Hogs with 6ARC
Got a chance to go Hog hunting in Nov. So.   I have 103 ELDX factory and I have 90gr GMX/CX Hornady loads .

Any one done hogs with a bolt 6 arc ?

Tips are welcome.

Thanks

And what size for eating , will be my first hog (if I get one ) and have heard all the stories about big is not better, and bigger tastes great , so clue me in
I have no experience shooting hogs with 6mm ARC ammo but I do have experience eating feral hog meat. Killed one hog that was a large boar & several others that were about year old sows. The young sows were more tender than the bigger boar but not by much. The boar meat was just fine. The loins & tenderloins seared in a frying pan & then roasted in a crock pot with some chicken stock for about 6 hrs. will melt in your mouth! With other cuts, I do the same but cook them up to 8 hrs. in the crock pot. Then I shred the meat, add some BBQ sauce & return it to the crock pot for another 2 hrs. I'll make a large batch & have BBQ pork sandwiches for a week! If processed correctly, no matter the size, they all taste great.
The trick is growing up without growing old. -- Casey Stengal
(10-23-2023, 10:03 PM)Old Bob Wrote: I have no experience shooting hogs with 6mm ARC ammo but I do have experience eating feral hog meat. Killed one hog that was a large boar & several others that were about year old sows. The young sows were more tender than the bigger boar but not by much. The boar meat was just fine. The loins & tenderloins seared in a frying pan & then roasted in a crock pot with some chicken stock for about 6 hrs. will melt in your mouth! With other cuts, I do the same but cook them up to 8 hrs. in the crock pot. Then I shred the meat, add some BBQ sauce & return it to the crock pot for another 2 hrs. I'll make a large batch & have BBQ pork sandwiches for a week!  If processed correctly, no matter the size, they all taste great.
Thanks, I do crock pot deer now so I should be good to go.